Greenwich Library – “Ulysses” James Joyce’s Novel-Work Sessions with Jesse Meyers | Greenwich Moms

Have an event we should know about? Please Contact Us

Loading Events

« All Events

Greenwich Library – “Ulysses” James Joyce’s Novel-Work Sessions with Jesse Meyers

May 20 @ 12:15 pm - 2:15 pm

Join Jesse Meyers for a 13-week series of lectures/open discussions analyzing Ulysses from the pen of the 20th Century’s most influential writer. The weekly sessions will be held in the Greenwich Library lower level Marx Family Black Box Theater and attendees may bring their lunch.

Ulysses is set in Dublin on an “ordinary” day–June 16, 1904. Irish author James Joyce published the work in 1922 and it is generally regarded as a masterpiece and the subject of analysis for its style and its parallels to Homer’s Odyssey.

Each workshop session will discuss multiple episodes,and the story advances with each session. Once registered, participants will be given the syllabus that lists text to be read each week.

The text used in the sessions will be: Ulysses, the “corrected” edition/Gabler edition and copies can be found in the Greenwich Library collection.  Place a hold on the title HERE and pick up your copy at Greenwich Library.

Dates & Times:
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, February 26, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, March 4, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, March 11, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, March 18, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, March 25, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, April 1, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, April 8, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, April 15, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, April 22, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, April 29, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, May 6, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, May 13, 2024
12:15pm – 2:15pm, Monday, May 20, 2024
Location:
Marx Family Black Box Theater
Audience:
  Adult 
Categories:
  Literature and Writing 

Venue

Greenwich Library
101 West Putnam Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830 United States
+ Google Map

Join The Greenwich Community

Stay up-to-date with what is happening in-and-around Greenwich, CT with local events, community highlights, and exclusive deals.